India in West Indies 2016 July 11, 2016…..Roston Chase in for West Indies, Ramdin out

Roston Chase, an uncapped middle-order batsman who can be handy with his offspin, has been named in West Indies’ squad for the four-Test series against India. Wicketkeeper and former captain Denesh Ramdin has been left out, in keeping with what he had tweeted last week.

Leon Johnson has been recalled for India Test series

Leon Johnson has been recalled for India Test series

Left-hand batsman Leon Johnson gained a recall, while there was no place for experienced quick Kemar Roach after his poor showing in West Indies’ previous Test assignment, the series in Australia last December.

Fast bowler Jerome Taylor also did not feature in the 12-man squad. Taylor, 32, who had played 46 Tests for West Indies since debuting in 2003, had informed the board that he is retiring from the longest format, the WICB said in a release. He will continue to be available in the shorter formats.

The WICB also said that Ramdin was “sanctioned” for his outburst in relation to his non-selection. In Ramdin’s absence, Dowrich will take over wicketkeeping duties. He was designated wicketkeeper in the Indians’ first warm-up game, in which Johnson and Chase also featured for the West Indies Cricket Board President’s XI, though none had much success.

Both Johnson and Chase had enjoyed a good run in West Indies’ regional first-class tournament in 2015-16. Johnson was a key cog in Guyana’s triumphant campaign, topping the run charts with 807 runs at 57.64, while Chase was fourth on the table, with 710 runs at 59.16 for Barbados.

Shannon Gabriel is the only specialist fast bowler in the 12-man squad, with seam-bowling allrounders Carlos Brathwaite and captain Jason Holder being the other pace options. Legspinner Devendra Bishoo is the only specialist slow bowler in the squad.

The others to miss out from West Indies’ squad that toured Australia are left-arm spinner Jomel Warrican, fast bowler Miguel Cummins and batsman Shai Hope, who had hit an unbeaten century in the tour game.

The first Test against India begins on July 21 in Antigua, followed by Tests in Jamaica, St Lucia and Trinidad.

WI squad: Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite (vice-capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels.

(Taken from