Akshaya Persaud only new comer in Jaguars squad

With the unavailability of six senior players, the National selectors headed by former Guyana pacer Rayon Griffith,have selected an experienced Jaguars line up for their opening PCL Regional four-day game against Jamaica from Thursday at Providence.

The three-times defending champions will begin their campaign without Shiv Chanderpaul, who miss the first game due to personal commitments, Raymond Reifer, Shimron Hetymer and Devendra Bishoo, who are with the Test side in Zimbabwe and Vishaul Singh and Keon Joseph on West Indies ‘A’ team duties against Sri Lanka.

Akshaya Persaud, is the only uncapped player name in the 13-man which is led by Leon Johnson. Persaud gains selection on the back of scoring the most runs in the recently concluded three-day Franchise League leading the West Demerara Franchise.

Shiv Chanderpaul, Singh and Joseph will join the team for their second round game against the Windward Islands from next week Thursday in St Lucia.

Guyana Jaguars: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Rajendra Chandrika, Chanderpaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Bashkar Yadram, Keemo Paul, Anthony Bramble, Sherfane Rutherford, Veerasammy Permaul (V/Capt), Gudakesh Motie, Romario Shepherd, Akshaya Persaud, Anthony Adams.



(Source: www.kaieteurnewsonline.com)