The Demerara Cricket Board (DCB) was formed in 1992, when the Guyana Cricket Board was restructured, to manage cricket in the County of Demerara.

This Board consists of four distinct geographical divisions, known as “associations”. These associations are East Bank Demerara Cricket Association (EBDCA), East Coast Demerara Cricket Association (ECCB), Georgetown Cricket Association (GCA) and West Demerara Cricket Association (WDCA).

The EBDCA includes locations south of Georgetown on the east bank of the Demerara River, and on both banks of the Demerara River from Kamuni Creek to Linden and further south. The ECCB includes locations east of Georgetown along the Atlantic coast, up to Abary Creek. The GCA has jurisdiction over Georgetown and its environs, including the University of Guyana at Turkyen. The WDCA includes locations on the west bank of the Demerara River from Kamuni Creek in the South to Boereserie Creek in the North, inclusive of both Canal #1 and Canal #2 on the West Bank of Demerara.

The associations manage cricket competitions within its area of responsibility and the DCB manages first and second division competitions and all age group inter-association competitions. The GCA, however, also manages its own first division competitions, because of the large number of highly developed cricket clubs under its jurisdiction.

The Demerara cricket team played first class cricket in the Jones Cup, and later the Guystac Trophy.  Also, they are credited as playing in the inaugural first class cricket match in the West Indies with a game against Barbados in 1865.

Demerara were winners of the Jones Cup in 1972/73, and the Guystac Trophy in 1984/85, 1985/86 and 1989/90. Cricketers to have played for them include Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Lance Gibbs, Roger Harper, Carl Hooper and Ramnaresh Sarwan. The Jones Cup was the inter-county tournament in Guyana for many years until the name was changed to that of the new sponsors of the competition, Guystac.

Associations under the DCB

  • Georgetown Cricket Association
  • West Demerara Cricket Association
  • East Bank Demerara Cricket Association
  • East Coast Demerara Cricket Association

Subscribe to us via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 73 other subscribers