GCB/DMLAS/MOE/NSCCL 2016/17… St. Cuthbert’s Mission Secondary continues their winning streak

St. Cuthbert’s Mission Secondary continued their winning streak when they defeated the East Bank Demerara Zone Champions, Diamond Secondary, to secure the Upper Demerara/East Bank District title when action continued in the 2016/17 Guyana Cricket Board/ Demerara Mutual Life Assurance Society/ Ministry Of Education/ National Secondary Schools’ Cricket League.

Diamond Secondary, having travelled to the Bayroc ground in Upper Demerara, appeared somewhat unpremeditated, as they took the decision to bat first, when clearly their approach to batting seemed unprepared to set St. Cuthbert’s Mission Secondary a challenging total. The Cuthbert’s Mission bowlers, once again went about their task in an assertive and professional manner, unsettling the Diamond Secondary batsmen and making scoring a very uncertain exercise for the batsmen.

In the end Diamond just manner to make a seemingly trivial 111 all out off 19.4 overs from their allotted 30 overs. Diamond Secondary’s 11 came with kind compliments to Romario Persaud 19, which included two sixes and Joel Craig 19, which included three fours and one six. Bowling for St. Cuthbert’s Mission, Zak Ferreira grabbed 4 important wickets for 28 runs off 4 overs, Mark Clenkian 2 for 22 of 3.4, and Paul Henry 2 for 10 from one over.

In reply St. Cuthbert’s Mission once again made hard work of an otherwise easy score, reaching their target with 2 wickets to spare off 19.4 overs. Zak Ferreira, turned in a good all round performance, by hitting 32 which included 4 fours and one six to add to his 4 wickets, while Elroy Dundas made 24 which included 4 fours and one six.

Bowling for Diamond Secondary Joel Craig manage to grab the best bowling figures for his team, Diamond Secondary of 4 for 25 from 5.4 overs, while Mavindra Dindyhal took 3 for 23 from 6 overs.

The win for St. Cuthbert’s Secondary meant that they took the Upper Demerara/East Bank District Title, and will now face the winner of the West Demerara District on the 24 February, 2017 at the Meten-meer Zorg ground on the West Coast Demerara. Saraswat Secondary and West Demerara Secondary will reach on the 21 February, 2017 at the Meten-meer-zorg ground to battle for the West Demerara District Trophy and for a place to meet St. Cuthbert’s Mission Secondary.

On Monday 20 February, 2017, last year’s GCB/NSSCL champions, Chase Academy will meet Charlestown Secondary to determine the Georgetown District champion and for a place on the 28 February, 2017 to play the Mahaicony/East Coast District Champions. Mahaicony Secondary and IBE will play on the 21 February, 2017 at the Fairfield ground to determine the Mahaicony/East Coast District winner.