GCB/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression One Cricket continues across the country

The GCB/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression One Cricket continues across the country as Aurora, Riverstown and Fisher Primary Schools won in the Essequibo Coast zone, and New Diamond, St Stephen’s and Bel Air Primary Schools won in the East Bank Zone.

At Hiberna ground, Good Hope Primary won the toss and chose to bat. They posted 139/1 in 14 overs as Joshua Hackett made a commanding 55. He was well supported by Narindra Dusraj who scored 31. Guri Seeraj took the only wicket to fall. In reply, Aurora Primary needing two runs to win off the final delivery of the match completed their chase with a six. Leading the run chase was Ramesh Seeram who struck a polished 45 while Sherwin Davson made 28. Aurora Primary won by nine wickets.

Over at Ponoma ground, Riverstown won the toss and elected to bat; they scored 164/2 off 14 overs thanks to some worthwhile extras from the Huist Dieren bowlers. Russhella Beveney scored 22. In reply, Huist Dieren could only manage 108/7 off their 14 overs; only Gaurav Sahadeo managed to reach double figures with 15. Aliya Persaud had figures of 2/3 bowling for Riverstown.

Meanwhile, at NOC ground, Suddie Primary batted first and made 87/5. Mahendra Singh was the only batsman to get to double figures, making 16. Bowling for Fisher Primary, Movin Persaud had 2/2. In their chase, Fisher Primary raced to 89/4 in 13.1 overs, a total which was aided by extras as only Devaster Fall reached double figures with 10. Bowling for Suddie Primary, Devanand Bernaud had 1/1.

At the Racquet Centre in Georgetown, New Diamond Secondary defeated Grove Primary by two wickets. Batting first, Grove Primary limped to 72/4 off 14 overs despite the effort of Jagro who top scored with 31 which included one four and four massive sixes. Bowling for New Diamond Primary, Tahir Rambharose took two wickets. In reply, New Diamond Primary squeezed past the 73 required for victory for the loss of 12 wickets in 12 overs. Mark Smith, Rajin Danraj and Meride Pryce had 2 wickets each for Grove Primary.

In the other game played at the Racquet Centre, St Stephen’s Primary dispatched Ketley Primary by 32 runs. St Stephen’s won the toss and elected to bat first scoring competitive 132/12 in 14 overs. Leading the way with the bat was Jequan Cole who scored 36 which was decorated with four boundaries and two maximums. Ketley Primary could only manage 100/12 when their allotted overs expired.

Meanwhile, Bel Air Primary sneaked past Comenius Primary in a thriller thanks to Shania Smith’s last over heroics. Asked to bowl the final over with Comenius Primary needing just six runs for victory, Smith displayed great composure and accuracy as she had three wickets. Despite being denied the hat trick as a simple catch was put down she held her nerve as she only allowed one run in the over while sparking wild celebrations from the Bel Air Primary camp.

Earlier, Bel Air Primary was held to 96/5, D’Andre Alexander who took three wickets while Dequan Welcome top scored with 16. However, as it turned out 96 runs were just enough to secure victory as all of Comenius Primary’s hopes of advancing to the next round were dismissed by Smith.

Matches continue tomorrow Thursday, November 12, 2015 as Mae’s Primary battle Bel Air Primary in the first semi-final of the East Georgetown Zone at the Racquet Centre. And on Friday Redeemer Primary will take on Stella Marris Primary in the second semi-final also at the Racquet Centre. In Essequibo Coast zone, Queenstown Primary will face Capoey Primary at Capoey ground while Charity Primary will play against Better Hope Primary also at Charity ground.