GCB/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression One Cricket…Fort Ordinance, Overwinning, Friends Primary triumph

Fort Ordinance, Overwinning and Friends Primary registered victories in the New Amsterdam Canje zone Guyana Cricket Board (GCB)/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression one Cricket yesterday.

At Cumberland, Fort Ordinance held their nerve to beat Betsy Primary. Betsy batted first and scored 95 for 12 wickets off their allotted 14 overs. Toshar Kunkarang was the only batter offering resistance with 25.

In reply, Fort Ordinance found themselves in a precarious position at 93-6 requiring five runs off the final delivery of the match. Nandani Baljit, who was tasked with bowling the last over delivered a no-ball which was struck by Shamar Griffith for three and along with the no ball (two penalty runs) carried Fort Ordinance to 98.

At Edinburgh, Friends Primary registered a nine-run victory over the home team. Friends took first strike and scored 126-7. Abdool Seetaram struck 26; Natalia Clarke took 2-6. Edinburg Primary managed 117-5 in reply. Clarke completed a fine all round performance by scoring 24.

Number 5 Primary overcame host Bath Primary by 10 runs. Number 5 made 107-3 with Tyrone Delph scoring 33 not out and Travis Layne 25. Bath Primary finished on 97-3 in reply. Justin Bhokram smashed 38 (2×4 5×6).

Overwinning Primary eased past Gangaram Primary by 11 wickets at Cumberland. Gangaram Primary batted after winning the toss and mustered 77-10. Extras contributed 56; Jeselle Felix took 2-4. Overwinning responded with 81-2 in seven overs. Tyrese Tim cracked 25 not out (3×4) and Aaron Lindie an unbeaten 22 (2×4).

In the West Berbice District, Lichfield Primary prevailed against Number 29 Primary. Batting first, Lichfield Primary made 92-4. Terry Gordon got 14 and Colis Hardcourt 13. Padmini Sookdeo took 2-1.

Number 29 replied with 82-2. Latifa Mc Almont scored 25 not out. Action continues today in the West Berbice District when Hope Town takes on Litchfield. According to the competition regulations, each team shall be comprised of 14 players (eight males and six females), and each player must bowl one over. Two runs shall be credited to the batting side for every wide and no balls.