Guyana Jaguars off to St Kitts for NAGICO Super50 campaign

Confident in returning home with the NAGICO Super50 trophy, the Leon Johnson-led Guyana Jaguars departed for St Kitts and Nevis on Monday to begin their campaign in the West Indies Cricket Board’s regional one-day competition.

It has been 10 years since Guyana last won a regional 50-over title, but from all accounts, it seems that the upcoming NAGICO Super50 can bring different fortunes for the side.

Guyana Cricket Board President Drubahadur, in delivering the charge to the team, urged them to return home with the title. “2015 has been good for us and we also want to take that 2015 into 2016; we did exceptionally well that last time and we just need to cross that final hurdle.”

Captain Leon Johnson is looking to lead from the front with his own performance. He expects the Jaguars to do well, but noted that they must focus on one game at a time. “I’m looking to lead from the front, my form in the Four-Day has been a bit indecent, so I’m looking to lead from the front not only batting wise but tactically as well,” he said.

Johnson has scored seven half centuries in List A cricket and has certainly been a key player for the batting department.

One of the three newcomers to the squad, fast bowler Romario Shepherd is elated to be in the team and believes he can execute all his plans once given the opportunity.

Shepherd revealed: “I will just look to swing the new ball and look to take wickets and return at the depth and do a good job.”

Opener Kevon Boodie and left-arm spinner Gudakesh Motie have been selected for the 50-over format for the first time.

Guyana Jaguars, who lost last year’s final by 135 runs to Trinidad and Tobago, play their first game against Windward Volcanoes on Thursday at the St Paul’s Sports Complex, Basseterre. The latter part of the tournament will be played in Trinidad and Tobago. The other teams in the group are Leeward Islands, Combined Colleges and Campuses.

Guyana Jaguars squad reads: Assad Fudadin, Kevon Boodie, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Leon Johnson (Captain), Vishaul Singh, Christopher Barnwell (Vice Captain), Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Steven Jacobs, Veerasammy Permaul, Gudakesh Motie, Paul Wintz, Romario Shepherd and Royston Crandon. The Coach is Esuan Crandon and Manager/Assistant Coach, Rayon Griffith
Devendra Bishoo and Rajendra Chandrika are on duty with the West Indies team in Australia. As soon as they are available, they will replace two players.

(Taken from Guyana Times)