NAGICO Super50 2016…Guyana Jaguars to face TT Red Force in first Semi-final

Guyana Jaguars was declared Zone B runner-up and will clash with Trinidad & Tobago Red Force (Zone A winner) in the NAGICO Super50 first semi-final scheduled for Wednesday at the Queen’s Park Oval from 13.30 hrs.

Assad FudadinAssad Fudadin’s recorded a magnificent unbeaten 103 made up of 8x4s and 4x6s off 134 deliveries. The left-handed opener batted through the innings and sparked Guyana Jaguars to a thrilling five-wicket win over Combined Campuses and Colleges Marooners in their final double round-robin match that went down the wire at Warner Park, St Kitts last evening.

Despite rain stoppage, the Guyana Jaguars especially Fudadin who kept his composure and played the decisive role to seal victory with three deliveries remaining in the absorbing encounter that saw the fortunes fluctuate at regular intervals.

Newcomer Kevon Boodie made six, caught by Dewar off Christopher Powell; while skipper Leon Johnson partnered Fudadin and together they ramped up a 90-run second wicket stand that kept the Jaguars in the hunt for outright victory. Johnson made a blistering 56 (71balls, 7x4s and 1×6).

Anthony Bramble was run out 11 while Christopher Barnwell suffered a similar fate and was gone for eight. Reifer made 16 and Crandon retired hurt on 28.

But Fudadin took charge and together with Steven Jacobs (10 not out) rallied the Guyana Jaguars to a morale-boosting five-wicket win and a victory that kept them ahead of Windwards Volcanoes on a better overall net run-rate and top place in Zone B.

Earlier, the CCC Marooners batted first and rattled up 254 for 7 off their allotted overs with Rovman Powell 63 not out (65b, 4x4x and 3x6s), Anthony Alleyne 57, Mark Deyal 20, Chadwick Walton 36, Ryan Hinds 13 and Akeem Dewar 26 the main run-getters.

Gudakesh Motie (10-0-53-2), Raymon Reifer (8-2-44-2), Paul Wintz (8-1-48-1), Steven Jacobs (10-0-33-1) and Royston Crandon (4-0-12-1) shared the wickets.

Guyana Jaguars and Windwards Volcanoes team will travel to Trinidad and Tobago for the crucial semi-final rounds.

(Taken from Guyana Chronicle)