Victorious Guyana Jaguars return home …GCB President and Secretary receive team

Champions of the West Indies Cricket Board Professional Cricket League Regional 4-Day Tournament, Guyana Jaguars return home today and they were received by the GCB’s President and Secretary, Drubahadur and Anand Sanasie respectively at the Ogle International Airport.

GCB Secretary, Anand Sanasie (centre) with record breakers, Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul

GCB Secretary, Anand Sanasie (centre) with record breakers, Devendra Bishoo and Veerasammy Permaul

Sanasie who had called on the team to finish with a victory prior to their departure to Dominica, lauded them for fighting through the initial tough periods in the match and completed a thumping victory. He went on to express his satisfaction about the team’s dominant and consistent performance throughout the Tournament.

The Secretary also congratulated Veerasammy Permaul, Devendra Bishoo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Leon Johnson for being called up in the West Indies 20-man camp for the England Tour to the West Indies. He further urged those who were not selected to continue training hard and their time will come as their on-field performances cannot be ignored forever.

Drubahadur congratulated the team for bringing the title back to Guyana after a long time, noting that they have set the bar extremely high for competitions to come. He noted that the GCB has excelled this year starting from the Under-15 right up to the senior teams. He thanked the Executives of the GCB for their commitment and the management of the Guyana Jaguars who is an extension of the Board.

Team management and staff expressed their gratitude to the Guyana Cricket Board and Cricket Guy Inc. for the support given to the team and pledged to continue to work hard for future success regionally. Family and friends of the players were also present at the Ogle Airport to welcome the victorious team.
Guyana Jaguars completed eight emphatic victories to end with 148 points, 31 points clear of second place Barbados. Narsingh Deonarine, Vishaul Singh, Shivnarine Chanderpaul and Christopher Barnwell hit match winning centuries, while Veerasammy Permaul (67 wickets) and Devendra Bishoo (61 wickets) each broke the record for most wickets in a season which was held by Ryan Austin with 60.

The team will take one week break before joining the Academy Jaguars for training.