We have a group of talented young cricketers, says Manager

Manager of the National Under-17 cricket team Nazeer Mohamed has branded the 14-member squad selected to represent the country at the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) Regional Under-17 tournament as a group of talented young crickets, who he believes will put the team in a strong place with the long-term goal of winning the upcoming tournament.Guyana are yet to win a title at this level, but Mohamed indicated that he is confident of a successful regional tournament.

He is convinced the current crop of players have the potential to win the tournament, but insisted that they need the right kind of guidance to reach their full potential.

“What we have is a group of talented young cricketers and once the team can gel and build team spirit, play to the best of our ability and properly execute our game plan, we can be very successful,” the manager pointed out.

Guyana’s 14-member squad commenced their encampment period at the Chetram Singh Centre of Excellence, La Bonne Intention (LBI), East Coast Demerara last Friday.
The seven-day encampment will ensure that the players participate in fitness and cricket practice activities under the watchful eyes of coach Garvin Nedd.

In an invited comment Mohamed said the encampment period will be focusing on all-round development of the players.
“We want to address the physical, technical and mental aspects of their cricket as they prepare for the tournament,” Mohamed said.
The squad was selected after completion of the Guyana Cricket Board’s Inter-County competition held last April.

First played in 2010, the six-team tournament will be played in Trinidad and Tobago from July 8 and will conclude on July 18.
The tournament will comprise five rounds and fifteen 50-over matches.

The participating teams are the traditional regional teams: Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica, Leeward Islands, Trinidad & Tobago and Windward Islands.

Windward Islands are the defending champions after winning the tournament last year.

Guyana’s full squad reads: Bhaskar Yadram (captain), Joshua Persaud, Ashmead Nedd, Kevin Sinclair, Steve Deonarine, Joshua Jones, Javid Karim, Kevin Umroa, Sagar Hatheramani, Kevlon Anderson, Alphius Bookie, Kurt Lovell, Colin Barlow and Sachin Singh.

(Taken from Guyana Chronicle)