WICB PCL 4-Day 2016/17… Jaguars off to hunt glory

Romario Shepherd

Romario Shepherd

After thumping Jamaica Scorpions in the opening round of the WICB PCL 4-Day 2016/17, defending Champions, Guyana Jaguars, departed today to hunt glory in the Leeward and Windward Islands.

Jaguars would take on Leeward Islands Hurricanes from November 18 – 21 at Warner Park before moving to the Darren Sammy Cricket Ground to face the Windward Islands Volcanoes from November 25 – 28. Thereafter, return home to challenge Barbados Pride in a day/night encounter.

The defending Champs overcame a frustrating evening session after rain accounted for more than a session play on the final day to hand Scorpions a 181-runs defeat. It was the 18th time the Guyanese went undefeated since the 2013/2014 season. All the key batsmen and bowlers excelled and looked in top form.

Jaguars opted for a paceman instead of a spinner for the tour. Hence, the very impressive Romario Shepherd replaces Eon Hooper. Hooper had replaced Devendra Bishoo who was called up for West Indies tri-series against Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe. The off-spinner went wicket-less against the Scorpions but bowled economical and showed good signs for the future.

The full squad reads:

  1. Rajendra Chandrika
  2. Tagenarine Chanderpaul
  3. Shimron Hetmyer
  4. Leon Johnson (Captain)
  5. Vishaul Singh (Vice Captain)
  6. Shivnarine Chanderpaul
  7. Raymon Reifer
  8. Anthony Bramble
  9. Veerasammy Permaul
  10. Romario Shepherd
  11. Gudakesh Motie
  12. Keon Joseph
  13. Christopher Barnwell

Esuan Crandon (Coach)

Rayon Griffith (Assistant Coach/Manager)

Ernesto Campo Gonzalez (Physio)