Windies players sign contracts for World T20 ..Darren Bravo opts to play in PCL

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has 12 signed contracts from players who were selected for the upcoming 2016 ICC World Twenty20 Tournament.

Those players who were originally named in the 15-man squad include: Darren Sammy – captain, Sulieman Benn, Jason Holder, Andre Fletcher, Dwayne Bravo, Samuel Badree, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin and Chris Gayle.

Following the withdrawal of Sunil Narine and Kieron Pollard, selectors have named Ashley Nurse and Carlos Brathwaite respectively, to replace them.

Middle-order batsman, Darren Bravo has since written to the selectors. Indeed I’m very grateful and humbled for the opportunity to represent the West Indies Cricket Team at the World Cup. However, I’m of the firm belief that I have a very big part to play in the resurgence of West Indies cricket in the longer formats of the game and I will like the opportunity to play in our Professional Cricket League (PCL) because it will put me in good stead and will allow me to achieve those goals that I have aligned myself for the year 2016 and beyond,” Bravo said. His replacement will be named shortly.

West Indies are ranked No. 2 in the Twenty20 format of the game and were the winners in 2012. The tournament is set for March 8 to April 3 in India. Details of the pre-tournament camp will be released soon.