Windies women to host England in 5 ODIs

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has confirmed that England women will travel to the West Indies in October 2016 to play a five-match One-Day International (ODI) series.

All five matches will be played in Jamaica during a two-week window, starting on Saturday, October 8 and Monday, October 10 with the first two ODIs at the Trelawny Stadium, less than an hour from the resort town of Montego Bay. The remaining three ODIs will form England’s sixth round of matches in the ICC Women’s Championship, and will be played at Sabina Park, Kingston on October 14, 16 and 19 (Friday, Sunday and Wednesday).

Although both teams are seven points apart, the series is expected to be an exciting encounter as both teams are looking for points in the ICC Women’s Championship. The Windies women are in second place with 20 points, while England is in sixth place with 13 points. Both will look for points for the 2017 ICC Women’s World Cup in England.

England Women’s Head Coach, Mark Robinson, said: “The five match ODI series against the West Indies in Jamaica will be a great test for us. We all saw during the ICC Women’s World T20 what a talented side they are, and they will be especially dangerous in home conditions. It should be a really exciting tour and a challenge that we will relish.”

WICB’s Project Officer, Women’s Cricket, Josina Luke said: “Winning the World T20 continues to be great for women’s cricket in the Caribbean. We are taking nothing for granted and we look forward to an exciting series with England.”

England women will play their final three rounds of the ICC Women’s Championship in 2016 with a home series against Pakistan followed by tours to the West Indies and Sri Lanka before Christmas.

The West Indies final round will be played in India following the England Home Series.

England women’s tour to South Africa 2016 schedule in full:

* ICC Women’s Championship fixture

* ICC Women’s Championship fixture

ICC Women’s Championship

The ICC Women’s Championship involves the top eight ranked women’s teams in the world and over a two-year period from 2014-2016 all teams will play each other in a three-match ODI series either at home or away to create an ICC WC league table. The top four teams will qualify for the ICC Women’s World Cup in England in 2017. Countries finishing in the bottom four will take part in the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier in early 2017 against teams from the ICC’s regional structures to determine the final four participants for the event.

(Taken from