GCB/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression One Cricket… Hopetown Primary crowned West Berbice Zone champions

Hopetown Primary emerged champions of the West Berbice Zone when they defeated Number 5 Primary in the final of the 2015 GCB/Scotiabank Kiddy Progression One Cricket.

Playing at the Bush Lot ground, Hopetown Primary won the toss and immediately sent in Number 5 Primary to bat first. Number 5 Primary then made 115/5 with Sayeed Khan scoring 30 which included one four and two sixes. Tyrone Delph was the only other major contributor with the bat as he scored 20 including two fours and one maximum. Bowling for Hopetown, Avinde Rogers returned figures of 2/3.

In Hopetown Primary’s turn at the crease, Ayinde Rogers returned with the bat to lead the successful chase as they manage to get to 117/7. Number 5 Primary tried their best to defend a tricky target taking the game down to the final over but they eventually lost, much to the disappointment of their supporters. Rogers finished with 43 as he struck three fours and three sixes to cap a good all round effort.

Action continues today when Timehri Primary clashes with Camille Primary at Thirst Park. The winner will face St. Ann’s in the final of the East Bank District which is slated for Friday, November 27, 2015 at Thirst Park.