Hetmyer cops WIPA 2013-14 U-19 Player-of-the-Year … Chetram Singh receives WICB Lifetime award

GUYANESE batsman Shimron Hetmyer was adjudged the West Indies Players Association’s (WIPA) 2013-2014 Under-19 Player-of-the-Year. This followed an award ceremony and dinner on Tuesday evening at the Pegasus Hotel in New Kingston, Jamaica.

Chetram Singh

Chetram Singh

Guyana also won the Regional Under-19 Team-of-the-Year award while former president of the Guyana Cricket Board and West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) director Chetram Singh was honoured with the WICB Lifetime Achievement Award.

Sulieman Benn of Barbados copped the Player-of-the-Year award while countryman Dwayne Smith picked up the Regional Limited Overs Player-of-the-Year award and Kraigg Brathwaite was named Test player-of-the-Year. Barbados also picked up the regional Four-day Team-of-the-Year award.

The Combined Campuses and Colleges’ (CCC) Shacaya Thomas was chosen as the Regional Four-day Player-of-the-Year while the WIPA Outstanding Performer in the Community award was handed to Ronnie Goddard.

The Regional Twenty20 Player-of-the-Year was Lendl Simmons of Trinidad & Tobago while countryman and Test captain Denesh Ramdin was awarded the One-Day International Player-of-the-Year. Samuel Badree claimed the Twenty20 International Player-of-the-Year.

Jamaica’s Jermaine Blackwood picked up the Emerging Player-of-the-Year accolade, while the Women’s Player-of-the-Year was given to Stafanie Taylor and former Jamaica wicketkeeper/batsman Renford Pinnock was handed the WIPA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Special awards were also presented to the seven current West Indies cricketing knights: Sir Garfield Sobers, Sir Everton Weekes, Sir Vivian Richards, Sir Wesley Hall, Sir Andy Roberts, Sir Richie Richardson and Sir Curtly Ambrose.

(Taken from Guyana Chronicle)