Moore satisfied with U-15s preparation … commends GCB for extended training camp

Coach of the national Under-15 team, Julian Moore, has expressed satisfaction regarding the squad’s preparation for the upcoming West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) regional tournament set for Grenada from July 27 to August 3.The squad ended their encampment period yesterday after a stint at the Chetram Singh Centre of Excellence, La Bonne Intention (LBI), East Coast Demerara, and Moore indicated that much emphasis was placed on the physical conditioning and the technique of each player.

Moore revealed that the players went through the fundamentals of batting, bowling and fielding in addition to the basic fitness routines during the camp.

“The batsmen worked on their shot selection, while the bowlers when through their delivery strides and lengths. The players also did some improvised fielding drills, so overall I am happy with the preparations,” Moore said.

The former Guyana youth player also disclosed that he was satisfied with the team’s fitness level and general preparation.

Moore continued: “We have a group of talented players, a group that I am confident will make Guyana proud and I know once they stick to their game plan and play to their abilities, we can easily defend our title.”

Further the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) came in for high praise from Moore.

“I must commend the GCB for the extended training camp. This is the first time that we had such a long camp leading up to the Under-15 tournament, and I must commend them (GCB) for that,” Moore said.

The Guyanese captured the title last year on home soil by topping the points table, following victories over Leeward Islands, Jamaica and Windwards, and in spite of no-results against Trinidad & Tobago and Barbados.

The tournament – in its 21st year – will be contested under a round-robin format, featuring five rounds of matches with the team accumulating the most points being declared champions.

The Regional Under-15 tournament commenced in 1996 with then-hosts T&T taking the inaugural title. They hold the record for the most titles with seven, also winning the title in 2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2010 and 2013.

Reigning champions Guyana have claimed the top prize four times comprising back-to-back titles twice – in 1998 and 1999, and again 2014 and last year.

Jamaica have won the title on four occasions (2006, 2008, 2009, 2011) and Barbados have won three times (1997, 2004, 2012).
Windwards emerged champions eight years ago, leaving Leewards yet to win the title.

Sachin Singh will lead the Under-15 squad while the other members of the squad are: Seon Glasgow, Yeudistir Persaud, Mohamed Shoaib Shaw, Jarron France, Lance Roberts, Gevon Schultz, Amos Sarwan, Dwaine Dick, Nickeen Noble, Sheldon Charles, Leon Swamy, Nigel Deodat and Daniel Paul.

The squad will depart for Grenada on Sunday.

(Taken from Guyana Chronicle)