RHTYSC, M.S host Regional Female Cricketers

Merissa Aguilleira receives Dolphin Award of Excellence on behalf of Stefanie Taylor from Shemaine Campbelle and Tremayne Smartt

Merissa Aguilleira receives Dolphin Award of Excellence on behalf of Stefanie Taylor from Shemaine Campbelle and Tremayne Smartt

The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, M.S on Saturday last hosted several cricketers drawn from several countries taking part in the 2016 WICB female tournaments. The players were drawn from Trinidad, Leeward Island, Windward Islands and Guyana teams and included West Indies players Marissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Tremayne Smartt and Britney Cooper. West Indies captain Stephanie Taylor was unavoidable absent but was inducted as the ninth awardee of the Club’s prestigious Dolphin Award of Excellence Scheme. Former West Indies Captain Merissa Aguilleira who was also honoured by Guyana’s leading youth and sports organisation, was inducted as an honorary member and received a set of Club souvenirs.

Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster expressed gratitude to Mr. Colin Stuart and Mrs. Melinda Bishundyal-Chaitram of the Guyana Cricket Board for arranging the visit and stated that it was part of the Club’s effort to expose its membership to positive role models with the hope of inspiring them to fulfill their potentials. Foster provided a comprehensive briefing to the visitors which included the Manager of the Leeward Islands and Trinidad Teams along with the Coach of the Windward Island Team on the history of the RHTYSC, M.S history, achievements over the years and plans of the future. He advised the players to continue being a positive role model to youths and to work hard to make a positive difference in the lives of the less fortunate back in their homeland. The RHTYSC, he proudly stated would continue to spearhead the effort to guide youths on the correct path and issued an invitation to Taylor and Aguilleira to visit the Club for a working visit to speak to youths. The former West Indies captain accepted the offer immediately and has indicated that she would visit by this yearend.

An emotional Aguilleira speaking to Club members, congratulated them on the outstanding work that the RHTYSC was doing and stated that she was delighted to be inducted as an honorary member of such a dynamic and progressive organisation. The former West Indies captain spoke broadly on the importance of hard work, personal discipline and urged the attentive youth cricketers to always strive to the highest possible standard. West Indies player Britney Cooper, who scored the winning runs to win the 2016 20/20 World Cup, also addressed the young cricketers and spoke of how the importance of setting goals in life is. Cooper stated that her own personal goal was to play for Trinidad and the West Indies by the age of 23 years and via hard work she was able to do so. She urged the RHTYSC members to take every opportunity been given to them and to make sure that they stay in school to obtain an educational background as education was the Key to success.

West Indies Female Captain Stefanie Taylor was awarded the RHTYSC Dolphin Award of Excellence for guiding the regional team to the World Cup championship and for being a positive role model to youths in the Caribbean. Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster stated that the Dolphin Award of Excellence is the highest and most prestigious of the Club’s twelve award schemes. It would be given to only twenty five persons who the Club views as role-models and inspiration to youths. Taylor joins former General Manager of Busta Robert Selman, President David Granger, Gizmos and Gadgets CEO Ravi Mangar, Journalists Gregory Rambarran and Franklyn Wilson, Metro CEO Avie Lindee, DDL Marketing Manager Larry Wills and Scotia Bank Marketing Executive Jennifer Cipriani as the awardees to date. The Club also presented special gifts to all the players and officials as souvenirs.