Tri-Nation Series…..WI squad for Barbados leg

West Indies selectors have made one change to the West Indies 13-man squad for the final leg of the Ballr Cup Tri-Nations ODI Series, which bowls off here Sunday.

Selectors had initially picked 14 players for the first four matches of the tournament, covering the Guyana and St Kitts legs, but reduced the squad to 13 players for the Barbados leg.

Fast bowler Jerome Taylor was the man omitted.

West Indies, like their rivals Australia and South Africa, have won two of their four matches and lost two. They have eight points, two behind leaders South Africa, with Australia second on nine.

The Windies opened their campaign with a four-wicket victory over South Africa in Guyana but slumped to a six-wicket defeat to Australia in their next game, after being dismissed for 116.

In their opening game at Warner Park, West Indies chased down Australia’s 265 to win easily but yet again followed up with defeat, crashing to a 139-run loss.

They play their first game at Kensington Oval here on Tuesday against Australia before taking on South Africa on Friday.

The final is set for Sunday at the same venue.

SQUAD – Jason Holder (captain), Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Marlon Samuels, Darren Bravo, Denesh Ramdin, Carlos Brathwaite, Kieron Pollard, Jonathan Carter, Jerome Taylor, Sunil Narine, Sulieman Benn, Shannon Gabriel.

(Taken from CMC)